Book Review: Cress (Chapter 1 only!) by Marissa Meyer

cover39162-medium

So intriguing! After reading Cinder and Scarlet, I am anticipating this third book in the Lunar Chronicles series. I wish I could have had more than just a small sample, but the first chapter definitely helped stoke my curiosity. Like, why is Cress/Crescent a nickname for the “Rapunzel” character? I imagine it has something to do with a “crescent” moon since she is a prisoner of the Lunars…And what will happen with the group in the Rampion? Will Cinder ever be revealed as Selene? Aargh! The anticipation is killing me! I like the strange mix of technologies and classic stories; it helps keep the reader engaged while they ponder the connections of “Red Riding Hood” and “Wolf”, as well as the main, “Cinderella/Cinder” character. What new ability will she discover? And will her and Kai ever get together? Sigh. I guess I’ll just have to wait until the final chapters are revealed!

But ultimately, I really enjoy this series more than I thought I would. I thought the whole cyborg thing would be an odd detail that wouldn’t quite fit, but as it turns out, it became one of my favorite aspects. Cinder uses her abilities to her advantage, although she is ashamed of them. It fits in with the technological advances of the age, and ultimately makes her the ultimate leader. She has so many advantages, that its almost comical how others will look on her with revulsion or disgust. Its jealousy, people! Too much time has passed since I read the first two books…I like to review books right after I read them so I don’t forget any tiny details that I want to include. So, sadly, I don’t have a review for the first two. But will possibly review this in further detail once it comes out! Huzzah!

Add to your Goodreads!

One thought on “Book Review: Cress (Chapter 1 only!) by Marissa Meyer

Leave a comment